The Inheritance Cycle

The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini
The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini

The Inheritance Cycle which consists of the books Eragon, Eldest, Brisingr, and Inheritance is a fantasy series by Christopher Paolini.  I read these books when they first came out but only recently finished Inheritance when my daughter and I competed to finish the series (she won by the way).

We meet Eragon, a boy of 13 who lives a quiet farm life in the Spine until he discovers a dragon’s egg in the forest and it hatches.  The world is ruled by Galbatorix who has killed most of the dragons except his and controls all of the eggs.  Eragon finds himself a target by the Empire because he now has a dragon.  All four books of the series follows Eragon on his adventures as he first tries to just hide from the Empire and then he becomes the leader of the rebels trying to bring Galbatorix down.  He gives up all he knows and learns to step into his role as the only Rider left.

This world is peppered with elves, dwarfs, a race called Urgals, dragons, and humans.  Eragon works with all of them in their fragile alliance to bring down the Empire.

In the last book, Inheritance, Galbatorix is overcome and the world must now rebuild after so many years of being suppressed.  I didn’t like how the series ended with Eragon leaving all his family and friends behind as he leaves the known world to raise the new crop of dragons.  However, Mr. Paolini has promised a fifth book, but that could be years out.

Great overall series written by a homeschool kid who wrote Eragon when he was just 15.  Classic story of good overcoming evil.  Lots of twists and turns as Eragon grows up under intense pressure to grow up before his time.  Good adventure story.  The books get progressively longer and longer akin to Harry Potter series and Twilight series so especially in Inheritance there’s a lot of detail that in my opinion slows down the plot but plug through and you’ll be glad you did!

Why Would Anyone EVER Pre-Order a Book?

I am anxiously awaiting the release date of the final book in the Inheritance Cycle (called Inheritance) by Christopher Paolini as a lot of other fans are on November 8.

So, I go online to Amazon to pre-order it.  Well, as most of you know, you have to spend $25 or more to get free shipping so I thought I’d order some other books I’ve had in my queue.

I go through the whole process to the end where it says, “Your books will not be shipped until November.”


I thought books from Amazon were shipped when they arrived so I’d get separate orders.

I cancel that order and hop over to Barnes and and see what they say.  I call a physical store to ask,”If I pre-order this book along with others, will it be shipped separately?”

“Oh, yes,” the employee assures me.  “You’ll get your other books first.”

Once again, I go on-line to order my books along with pre-ordering Inheritance.  Again, same message:  “Your books will not be shipped until the pre-order is available.”

Of course, I don’t believe the young man on the phone and I just cancel my order.

In the end, I don’t order Inheritance (much to my chagrin for I really want the book) and just order the stuff I need now (some are workbooks for homeschool) along with a book my daughters really want (the new book in the Magic Tree House Series called Dogs in the Dead of Night #46 by Mary Pope Osborne) to get myself over the $25 mark.

Why would anyone ever pre-order? I wonder.

Amazon has changed the price on Inheritance THREE times since I’ve put it in my cart.

I decide to just order the book when it comes out.  Easier. Safer.  Less hassle. And confusion.

And if I pay shipping, so be it.  But by November, I’m sure I’ll have something else I need (all books are a need, ya know!).